Klassik  Kammermusik Instrumental
Duo d´Accord & Habá Quartett Brahms - Sonate op. 34 OC 1868 2 CD
1 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 17 July 2024 Price: 18.99 EURO

Detailed information hide

Format2 Audio CD
Ordering NumberOC 1868
Release date01/03/2017
  • Duo d'Accord
  • Habá Quartett
  • Brahms, Johannes

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)

      Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34
      Sonata for 2 Pianos, Op. 34b

      Duo d'Accord
      Hába Quartett

      For this release, OehmsClassics was able to convince the House of Hessen to engage in a small cooperation because the works heard on this CD were perso-nally dedicated to Princess Anna von Hessen.

      Rainer von Hessen has written the following in his preface to this production:
      “To the best of my knowledge, this is the first time that both chamber works Op. 34 by Johannes Brahms have been united on the same CD: his only Piano Quin-tet and the Sonata for Two Pianos. Previously, both works could be heard at a concert with the duo pianists Lucia Huang and Sebastian Euler (Duo d'Accord) as well as the Hába Quartet of the hr Symphony Orchestra at the baroque Fasa-nerie Palace near Fulda. With this rather unusual programme combination, a long harboured wish came true for me, namely to hear both works dedicated by Brahms to Princess Anna von Hessen (my great-grandmother) performed on the same evening: the Sonata for Two Pianos in F minor and the Piano Quintet, that resulted from it. This enabled us to sense how the composer increased the sonic attractiveness of his composition by means of refined instrumentation, hardly changing anything else.”

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • Sonate für zwei Klaviere f-Moll op. 34b
        • 1.Allegro non troppo15:07
        • 2.Andante, un poco adagio08:26
        • 3.Scherzo. Allegro07:33
        • 4.Finale. Poco sostenuto – Allegro non troppo – Presto non troppo10:51
      • Total:41:57
      CD 2
      • Quintett für zwei Violinen, Viola, Violoncello und Klavier f-Moll op. 34
        • 1.Allegro non troppo14:59
        • 2.Andante, un poco adagio08:23
        • 3.Scherzo. Allegro07:45
        • 4.Finale. Poco sostenuto – Allegro non troppo – Presto non troppo10:14
      • Total:41:21