Klassik  Sinfonische Musik
Tamara Stefanovich & Thomas Bloch & Nationaltheater-Orchester Mannheim & Alexander Soddy Olivier Messiaen: Turangalîla-Symphonie OC 472 CD
3 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 29 June 2021 Price: 13.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberOC 472
Release date18/09/2020
  • Bloch, Thomas: Ondes Martenot
  • Nationaltheater-Orchester Mannheim
  • Soddy, Alexander: Dirigent
  • Stefanovich, Tamara: Piano
  • Messiaen, Olivier

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Olivier Messiaen (1908–1992)


      Tamara Stefanovich, piano
      Thomas Bloch, ondes martenot
      Nationaltheater-Orchester Mannheim Alexander Soddy, conductor

      The Sanskrit word Turangalîla roughly translates as ‘dynamism’ and ‘vitality’, and Olivier Messiaen, an expert on Indian rhythms, gave this title to his gigantic opus, christening it Hymn to Joy. The National Theater Orchestra Mannheim and its general music director Alexander Soddy revel in the work’s exuberance, with an ensemble of over 100 musicians that includes Turangalîla specialists Tamara Stefanovich (piano) and Thomas Bloch (ondes martenot). With its crazy tempi, rhythms and tonalities, Messiaen’s ‘love song’ is a Dionysian frenzy of sound that is second to none.

      A production by the Musikalischen Akademie des Nationaltheater Orchesters Mannheim e.V. in cooperation with the Nationaltheater Mannheim.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Introduction06:26
      • 2.Chant d’amour I08:28
      • 3.Turangalîla I05:14
      • 4.Chant d’amour II11:16
      • 5.Joie du sang des étoiles06:42
      • 6.Jardin du sommeil d’amour 11:12
      • 7.Turangalîla II03:58
      • 8.Développement de l’amour12:09
      • 9.Turangalîla III04:26
      • 10.Final08:27
      • Total:01:18:18