Klassik  Kammermusik Instrumental
Sebastian Hess & Nürnberger Symphoniker & Rudolf Piehlmayer & David Stromberg Emanuel Moór: Concerto For Two Cellos - Suite for Four Cellos - Cello Sonata OC 1704 CD
Currently not in stock. Available in 1-2 weeksWould you like to get informed if this article is in stock?
Please enter your e-mail address and confirm our data privacy statement. Your e-mail address will be only used for a one-time e-mail notification and will be deleted afterwards. In any case your e-mail address will be deleted after 6 months.
I have read the data privacy statement and agree to the use of my e-mail address for a one-time stock information notification.
Price: 13.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberOC 1704
Release date17/04/2020
  • Eppinger, Niklas: Violoncello | cello (Tracks Nr 8, 9, 10, 11)
  • Hess, Sebastian: Violoncello | cello (Tracks Nr 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11)
  • Nürberger Symphoniker (Tracks Nr 8, 9, 10, 11)
  • Piehlmayer, Rudolf: Dirigent | conductor (Tracks Nr 1, 2, 3, 4)
  • Reeves, Carina: Violoncello | cello (Tracks Nr 8, 9, 10, 11)
  • Stromberg, David: Violoncello | cello
  • Zahharenkova, Irina: Klavier | piano (Tracks Nr 5, 6, 7)
  • Moór, Emanuel

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      EMANUEL MOÓR (1863–1931)

      Concerto for two celli, Op. 69
      Suite for four celli, Op. 95
      Cello Sonata, Op. 53

      Sebastian Hess • David Stromberg
      Niklas Eppinger • Carina Reeves
      Irina Zahharenkova
      Nürnberger Symphoniker
      Conductor: Rudolf Piehlmayer

      The rediscovered composer Emanuel Moór (1863–1931) belonged to a generation of composers who grew up with the romantic music of Brahms, Schumann, Wagner and Debussy, but were then confronted with the new challenges of modernism around 1900. Reflecting his friendship with the famous cellist Pablo Casals, he composed numerous works for cello.

      This recording highlights various stages in that friendship with Pablo Casals. Moór’s Sonata No. 2 for violoncello and piano Op. 53 was written in 1901, before the two met. The Double Concerto for two violoncelli Op. 69, written for Pablo and Guilhermina Casals, was well received at the time. The Suite for four cellos Op. 95 was commissioned by Pablo Casals.

      From 1920 Moór also worked in instrument making. He developed a two-manual concert grand piano (duplex coupler Grand Pianoforte) and made modifications to string instruments.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • Konzert für zwei Violoncelli und Orchester D-Dur op. 69 - Concerto for two celli and orchestra in D major, Op. 69 gewidmet | dedicated to Pablo Casals und Guilherminia Suggia
        • 1.i. Molto moderato09:33
        • 2.ii. intermezzo. allegro04:26
        • 3.iii. adagio05:37
        • 4.iV. finale. allegro moderato07:03
      • Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier a-Moll op. 53 - Sonata for cello and piano in A minor, Op. 53 gewidmet | dedicated to Ludwig Lebell
        • 5.i. allegro moderato07:03
        • 6.ii. adagio06:06
        • 7.iii. finale. allegro con brio05:51
      • Suite für vier Violoncelli C-Dur op. 95 - Suite for four celli in C major, Op. 95 gewidmet | dedicated to Pablo Casals, André Hekking, Joseph Salmon & Diran Alexanian
        • 8.i. andante sostenuto05:30
        • 9.ii. Molto allegro03:52
        • 10.iii. adagio04:44
        • 11.iV. allegro con brio05:53
      • Total:01:05:38